So this is what the future looks like…

Happy New Year

After a week of (very) heavy celebrating, Christmas is over and the new year has quickly crept up on us. It’s (almost) time to finish that crate of wine/beer/chocolate, and embrace the new beginning, giving us a fresh outlook to life. I always love new year. I love the air of optimism it brings, giving hope for a year filled with promise.

Once again the year sounds like something from a 1950’s sci/fi novel, and I half expect to gaze out of my window upon a world filled with robots and flying cars. But alas, it is not to be. I still need to cook my own dinner and brew my own tea.

I have a good feeling about this year though. I have very recently adopted ‘thirteen’ as my lucky number and here are the reasons why; My husband was born on the thirteenth, my son’s birthday is the thirteenth of the third, and the publication date I have been given for my first novel is the thirteenth of the third thirteen. So, I feel quite a pattern emerging.

Of course I have made a few resolutions. My writing resolutions mirror last years, the only difference is that ‘A Darker Blood’ is contracted and ‘Katya’ has been submitted, so fingers crossed on that one. ‘Blood Moon’ will be my project for this year. And it is going to be awesome (if I do say so myself).

My other resolutions, a bit corny I’m afraid, are to stay true to myself, to not let others lead my feelings and emotions, and to only surround myself with people who genuinely care about me. I admit that I am too soft for my own good sometimes, and take things to heart far too easily. I vow to toughen up this year. It’s going to be hard, but I think it’s essential before I enter the world of a published author.

Anyway, here’s to a very happy new year, one where dreams are realised and hope can fill our hearts.

And let’s all raise a glass to the lucky Number 13.

One thought on “So this is what the future looks like…

  1. Diane says:

    A very happy and pleasure filled 2013 to you and yours and the very very best of luck with your writing endeavours. here’s to 13 and a hope that it will indeed be a lucky number for you

Leave a Reply

