The Phantom came to town

Today my family and I were in for a real treat. Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phantom of the Opera came to town and we were lucky enough to secure tickets. I first saw this musical when I was fifteen years old (way too long ago) and the gothic magic consumed me. It was something that never left me and now I’ve been able to share that magic with my own children. My daughter watched in awe as the phantom attempted to steal the beautiful Christine away from her new love, and as the huge crystal chandelier exploded above the audience. My favourite part will always be the masquarade ball, although it lacked a little in this version, it was still fabulous.

The whole show was wonderfully put together and the singing was mind blowing. Although the show was on a slightly smaller scale than the London version, they have retained all of the glory of the original version. I can’t wait ’til it comes around again. I’ll be first in the queue.

One thought on “The Phantom came to town

  1. Diane says:

    I’ve not seen it though my mum and dad and brother and sister in law went and were amazed and awed by it and that was in the very early days the first time it travelled to Manchester. Maybe one day – thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us.

Leave a Reply

