A blue-sky, winters day.

It’s days like this when winter comes into its own. Yesterday we took a long walk along the Grand Union Canal. Against a striking winter sky, the canal was embellished with patterned ice and steam emanating from cozy, warm narrow boats. Trees, bare of their summer leaves reached out to grab us as we walked past and thick frost crunched under foot.  We found a lake that would probably be hidden by trees in summertime. Its water was pale-green like celery soup. Although it is probably a haven for wildlife, my daughter decided it was the home of Pennywise the clown from Stephen King’s IT. I could see where she was coming from.

My little book of spells told me to select a stick and throw it into running water to take away what ever is bothering you. I carefully chose my stick, made my request and threw it onto the ice. I guess I’ll just have to wait until it thaws before the wheels are set in motion.

The walk took us to St. Andrew’s Church (see my Flickr for photos.) You know I can’t resist a graveyard on a sunny day (or even a spooky night.) The Church looked like it was undergoing structural repairs but the graveyard was beautifully well-kept. The sandstone looked stunning against the blue sky. In fact, everything looked stunning against the sky that day. On days like that the sun might not be able to warm your skin but it sure can warm your soul.

Our walk also took us to the local stone circles. Okay, so they may not be ancient but at least they are creative.

The blue of the sky held no comparison to the blue of my baby’s eyes.

4 thoughts on “A blue-sky, winters day.

  1. Blue skies and proper winter temperatures have been a rarity, this time around in the UK . Let’s hope winter proper, stays with us for a few more days and weeks. After this, I’ll be more than happy to let spring come along in its appropriate season.

    Kind Regards

    Tony Powell

  2. Diane says:

    What a lovely heartwarming post. I have just returned from a winter stroll with my neighbour. She speaks no English and I speak minimal French but the hidden pools and the footmarks of deer and boar are magical in any language even if it simply oooh and aaah and a pointing finger. Enjoyed the post and the pictures – Diane

  3. Beautiful, love the photos

  4. princesslizzykins says:

    awwwww. Made me well up….xx

Leave a Reply

