And a happy new year …

Well we made it. It is finally 2012 and we are officially living in the future. Excuse me while I zip up my silver cat-suit and get into my flying car.

As most people know, the Mayans prophesied the end of the world in December 2012 and I guess for some, it will be. For whatever reason, whether it be an earthquake or another tsunami, 2012 will be the end for some but I’m fairy sceptical that it will be the end of the world as we know it.

If it is though, my optimistic side feels that it would be quite cool to be the last. To be the ones that the last few million years and hundreds of generations have been leading up to. There has to be something incredible about that especially with the self-destructive nature of the human race.

On a different note, the turning of the year gives everyone the much-needed chance for reflection. It’s a time to realise what’s working and what isn’t with our lives and what improvements need to be made to make sure we are working to the best of our ability. It’s easy to fall into a rut, year on year but at least the new year gives us a chance to rectify it.

They say that people who bother to make new years resolutions are far more likely to achieve their goals than those who don’t, so I will.

Following all the usual ones about eating more healthily and spending less money, I think most of my resolutions will be dedicated to spending more time writing. I intend to finish my writing course, perfect The Workers and Katya and finally finish writing Blood Moon. If I achieve those goals, I feel my year will have been well spent.

One thought on “And a happy new year …

  1. Diane says:

    Yes indeed everyday is the last day for many but let’s hope that we see more peace in the the New Year and more true freedom. As for your goals I am sure that you can achieve those and more. The very best of everything to you and yours for 2012

Leave a Reply

