Bela Lugosi… the original Dracula

There is something utterly charming about watching old black and white movies. I was recently lucky enough to stumble across Dracula, with Bela Lugosi. I must admit, this film had been on my ‘must watch’ list for quite some time so I was thrilled when I saw it listed on the TV Guide.

The film version of Dracula was made back in 1931, so it’s over 80 years old. I hadn’t realized that the film was based on a Broadway stage play of which Lugosi was also the lead but he happened to be in the right place at the right time and won the title role.

Dracula, directed by Tod Browning, has no background music, which I think adds to the theatrical feel.  The sets are wonderful, especially that of the Abbey interior towards the end. And who can forget the strategic lighting of Dracula’s eyes. Of course the acting was fabulous but in a primitive way, there was nothing natural about any of the character portrayals. It is said that Lugosi couldn’t speak English very well at the time of filming and that he learned his lines phonetically, adding to the eerie accent of the count that we know and love.

I highly recommend watching this film, even if it is just to bring a smile to your face.

Dracula (1931)

2 thoughts on “Bela Lugosi… the original Dracula

  1. Diane says:

    Just look at that dress, gorgeous. I don’t generally like old films but this one has something very special. Of course black and white is important as well, I don’t believe it would have been anything like as stunning in colour.

  2. J Lawrence says:

    I know, what a dress!

Leave a Reply

