Hotel of Horrors

On a recent trip to Manchester I stayed in a pretty decent hotel in the city centre.  I don’t know what it is about hotels but although they are full of life during the daytime, as soon as darkness falls they somehow become  lonely eerie places.  Of course my mind instantly turns to Stephen King’s The Shining.  Walking the corridors, with just the sound of your own footfalls to ease the silence, past the groaning, rumbling elevator shafts and endless rows of identical doors on either side.  Perhaps it is just me but my nerves seem on edge and as I pass each door I half expect someone to jump out and shout “Here’s Johnny!”

Upon entering my room I switched on the lights and made sure the curtains were closed before I got undressed ready for my shower.  It wasn’t until I came out of the bathroom wearing just a towel that I noticed the curtains were just voiles, which in the light of the hotel room looked opaque but clearly those in the huge tower block on the other side of the road would have seen me, completely obviously wandering around my room naked like a fish swimming around in its bowl.  And that’s when I thought of Hitchcock’s classic – Rear Window!

6 thoughts on “Hotel of Horrors

  1. dannym says:

    Rear Window – great film. Mind you I love Hitchcock especially his short stories. The one where the woman kills her husband with a leg of lamb which she then fed to the police – brilliant.

  2. J Lawrence says:

    Sounds great, you don’t remember what it’s called by any chance?

  3. dannym says:

    No sorry can’t remember what it was called and it very very old, obviously but it has remained in my memory all this time as a very wicked and actually funny tale.

  4. Elisa says:

    Spooky to have read this on your blog just now! My daughter has just watched The Shining in art class at school. Quite apart from wondering how it teaches art, I’m trying to figure out how it’s appropriate viewing for 13yos… that movie scared me half to death as an adult!

  5. J Lawrence says:

    Spooky indeed! I’m sure there is art to be found in that story but as far as the film goes I’m pretty sure it was an 18.

  6. Silence is the most perfect expression of scorn.

Leave a Reply

