Writing a novel is like playing god in a micro universe.

Imagery is everything to me. I love writing because you can create dazzling new worlds and realistic characters out of nowhere.  You can manipulate and mould your characters and their situations to suit the needs and requirements of the story.  The sets become your home and the characters become a part of your family.  I go to sleep dreaming about them and wake up with them still on my mind.  They tell me who they will be meeting and where they will be going every step of the way.  Sometimes I feel like my fictional world crosses over with reality a little too much, and at times I have to remind myself who and what actually is real.

One thought on “Writing a novel is like playing god in a micro universe.

  1. dldzioba says:

    My friends often point out that I speak about my characters as if they were real people. Some of my friends don’t get it, some indulge it; but every once in a while one will look at me, when I express surprise about something a character did, and comment on how I’m the one writing it, why am I surprised.

    Most of the time when that happens I know it’s time to take a little break from the writing and do something just for me and my friends.

Leave a Reply

